Integrity Legal

8th February 2010

In previous postings on this blog the holiday closing schedule for US Embassies and Consulates have been posted in order to promulgate information about the dates that posts will be open for the regular transaction of business. This is done in an effort to forestall futile trips to the Embassy by those who are unaware of the times it will be closed. In general, a US Embassy or US Consulate overseas will be closed in recognition of both National Holidays in the United States of America as well as those national holidays recognized by the host country. Below is a schedule of holiday closures for the United States Embassy in New Delhi, India:

Date Day Holiday Type
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day American
January 5 Tuesday Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday Indian
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday American
January 26 Tuesday Republic Day Indian
February 12 Friday Mahashivratri Indian
February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday American
March 1 Monday Holi Indian
April 2 Friday Good Friday Indian
May 31 Monday Memorial Day American
July 5* Monday Independence Day American
August 24 Tuesday Raksha Bandhan Indian
September 2 Thursday Janmashtami Indian
September 6 Monday Labor Day American
October 11 Monday Columbus Day American
November 5 Friday Diwali Indian
November 11 Thursday Veterans’ Day American
November 17 Wednesday Idu’l Zuha (Bakrid) Indian
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
December 17 Friday Muharram Indian
December 24** Friday Christmas Day American

* in lieu of July 4, Sunday
** in lieu of December 25, Saturday

The above information is quoted from the website of the US Embassy in New Dehli. It should be noted that an Embassy can close for reasons other than recognition of official holidays so it would be wise to check the Embassy’s website directly before traveling to the Embassy as local conditions could require the Post to be closed with little notice. For those interested in checking the official website of the US Embassy in India, please click: here.

Many people travel to a US Embassy in another country in order to obtain documentation that cannot be obtained from another location. For example, those who need a new passport, a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, or an American Notary overseas go to the American Citizen Services Section of a US Embassy abroad in order to obtain this type of documentation. Prospective immigrants travel to an Embassy in order to interview for US Visas such as the K1 visa, the K3 visa, or an Immigrant visa. No matter what one’s reasons are for traveling to the Embassy, foreknowledge of their hours of operation could avert frustration.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.