Integrity Legal

13th August 2010

The following is the holiday closing schedule for the United States Embassy in the Philippines quoted directly from the official Embassy website:

Holiday Nationality Legal Date Closing Date
New Year’s Day U.S./PHL Fri, Jan 1 Fri, Jan 1
M. L. King Jr. Day U.S. Mon, Jan 18 Mon, Jan 18
President’s Day U.S. Mon, Feb 15 Mon, Feb 15
Maundy Thursday PHL Thurs, Apr 1 Thur, Apr 1
Good Friday PHL Fri, Apr 2 Fri, Apr 2
Bataan & Corregidor / Heroism Day PHL Fri, Apr 9 Fri, Apr 9
Labor Day PHL Sat, May 1 Sat, May 1
National Presidential and Local Elections PHL Mon, May 10 Mon, May 10
Memorial Day U.S. Mon, May 31 Mon, May 31
Independence Day PHL Sat, Jun 12 Mon, Jun 14
Independence Day U.S. Sun, July 4 Mon, July 5
Ninoy Aquino Day PHL Sat, Aug 21 Mon, Aug 23
National Heroes Day PHL Mon, Aug 30 Mon, Aug 30
Labor Day U.S. Mon, Sept 6 Mon, Sept 6
Eid-ul-Fitr (Subject to Proclamation) PHL TBD TBD
Columbus Day U.S. Mon, Oct 11 Mon, Oct 11
All Saints’ Day PHL Mon, Nov 1 Mon, Nov 1
Veterans Day U.S. Thurs, Nov 11 Thur, Nov 11
Thanksgiving Day U.S. Thurs, Nov 25 Thur, Nov 25
Bonifacio Day PHL Tues, Nov 30 Mon, Nov 29
Christmas Day U.S./PHL Sat, Dec 25 Fri, Dec 24
Rizal Day PHL Mon, Dec 27 Mon, Dec 27
New Year’s Day (CY 2011) U.S./PHL Sat, Jan 1 Fri, Dec 31Th

The administration of this blog frequently posts information such as this in an effort to forestall needless trips to US Embassies and Consulates abroad. This author has traveled to more than one US Embassy abroad only to find the facilities closed in observance of an American or local holiday.

Many Americans overseas find that they require services which can, sometimes, only be performed by an American Citizen Services (ACS) Section of a US Consulate or Embassy abroad.  Services such as this include, but are not limited to: US passport obtainment, visa page addition, promulgation of a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, or notarial services. In situations where services such as these are sought, Americans are well-advised to check the official website of the US Mission in their area in order to ascertain if appointments with ACS can be booked online. This can greatly streamline the processing of an American’s request as the Consular Officers can be put on notice of the appointment and also, in some cases, of the services sought.

Those seeking visas from a United States Mission abroad should check with the Mission’s Visa Unit in order ascertain how visa interview appointments should be scheduled. Often Immigrant visa applications are handled differently compared to non-immigrant applications (for those interested in US family visa obtainment, the K1 visa [Fiance Visa] is usually treated as an immigrant visa for application processing purposes).


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.