Integrity Legal

6th August 2010

As stated in recent postings on this blog, Holiday Closing Schedules for US Embassies and US Consulates overseas are routinely posted on this site in order to provide insight to those American travelers abroad who may be seeking services from a US Embassy or US Consulate located in one’s host country. Also, foreign nationals seeking services at an American Mission abroad may benefit from information regarding Post closure. The following Holiday closing schedule is directly quoted from the official website of the United States Consulate in Chennai, India:

The U.S. Mission will officially observe only the holidays listed below.

Date Day Holiday Type
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day American
January 14 Thursday Pongal/Tamil New Year’s Day
(not for Karnataka)
Indian
January 15 Friday Thiruvalluvar Day Indian
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday American
January 26 Tuesday Republic Day Indian
February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday American
April 2 Friday Good Friday Indian
April 14 Wednesday Dr. Ambedkar’s Birthday Indian
May 31 Monday Memorial Day American
July 5* Monday Independence Day American
September 1 Wednesday Krishna Jayanthi Indian
September 6 Monday Labor Day American
September 10 Friday Idu’l Fitr (Ramzan) Indian
October 11 Monday Columbus Day American
November 1 Monday Karnataka Rajyotsava Day
(for Karnataka only)
Indian
November 5 Friday Deepavali Indian
November 11 Thursday Veteran’s Day American
November 17 Wednesday Idu’l Zuha (Bakrid) Indian
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
December 17 Friday Muharram Indian
December 24** Friday Christmas Day American

* in lieu of July 4, Sunday
** in lieu of December 25, Saturday

Generally, Americans seeking assistance at a US Embassy or US Consulate overseas are in need of services such as Passport replacement, retrieval of a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, addition of visa pages, or signature notarization. For services such as this American Citizens are generally wise to check with the American Citizen Services (ACS) section of an Embassy or Consulate overseas in order to ascertain if appointments can be scheduled online. The reason why this is so important is due to the fact that many ACS sections have a great deal of demand placed upon their time. Therefore, scheduling an appointment in advance and specifying the services sought can assist the Consular Officers in streamlining their services in such a way that the customers needs are met quickly, efficiently, and effectively.

Those seeking a US visa abroad must check each Post’s policy regarding visa interview scheduling. Generally, non-immigrant visa interviews are conducted in a different manner compared to Immigrant visa interviews. It has been this author’s experience that for purposes of visa application adjudications abroad K1 visa applications are treated as Immigrant visa applications even though the visa itself is a non-immigrant quasi-dual intent travel document.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.