Integrity Legal

9th February 2011

Those following this blog with any regularity may have noticed that the administration routinely posts the holiday closing schedules of the various US Missions in the Asia-Pacific region as a courtesy to travelers and those who may be seeking services at a US Embassy or US Consulate abroad. The following was quoted directly from the official website of the US Embassy in Brunei Darussalam:

The U.S. Embassy will observe the following official American and Brunei holidays in the year 2011.

DATE DAY HOLIDAY OBSERVANCE
Jan 17 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday American
Feb 3 Thursday Chinese New Year Bruneian
Feb 15 Tuesday Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday Bruneian
Feb 21 Monday Presidents Day American
Feb 23 Wednesday Brunei National Day Bruneian
May 30 Monday Memorial Day American
May 31 Tuesday Royal Brunei Armed Forces Day Bruneian
June 29 Wednesday Israk Me’raj * Bruneian
July 4 Monday Independence Day American
July 15 Friday HM Sultan’s Birthday Bruneian
Aug 1 Monday 1st Day of Ramadan* Bruneian
Aug 17 Wednesday Nuzul Al-Quran* Bruneian
Aug 30 Tuesday Hari Raya Aidilfitri* Bruneian
Aug 31 Wednesday Hari Raya Aidilfitri* Bruneian
Sept 5 Monday Labor Day American
Oct 10 Monday Columbus Day American
Nov 6 Sunday Hari Raya Aidiladaha Bruneian
Nov 11 Friday Veterans Day American
Nov 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
Dec 27 Sunday Christmas Day American

* Actual Holiday Subject to Sighting of the Moon

Those wishing to visit the official homepage of the US Embassy in Brunei Darussalam please click HERE.

Those seeking services which can only be provided by an American Citizen Services (ACS) Section of a US Mission abroad such as issuance of a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, US Passport, or additional visa pages for a previously issued US Passport are well advised to attempt to make an appointment with ACS in advance in an effort to streamline the processing of requests.

Those seeking short term US visas such as the B-2 visa (US tourist visa), F-1 visa (US Student visa), J-1 visa (US exchange visitor visa), or B-1 visa (US business visa) are likely to see their application processed through a non-immigrant visa unit at a US Embassy or US Consulate abroad. Those seeking such travel documents should note that their application will likely be scrutinized pursuant to the language of section 214(b) of the United States Immigration and Nationality Act.

Those seeking US travel documents for foreign spouses such as the CR-1 visa or the IR-1 visa are likely to see their visa application processed at an Immigrant Visa Unit abroad after the approval of an immigration petition from the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). It should be noted that for processing purposes the K-1 visa application, technically a non-immigrant US fiance visa which allows for immigrant intent, is processed in much the same way as immigrant spousal visa applications.

Those seeking visas such as the L-1 visa for intracompany transferees or the EB-5 visa for Immigrant Investors are unlikely to see their visa application processed abroad until after the approval of an immigration petition at the USCIS in the USA.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.