Integrity Legal

Posts Tagged ‘US Embassy Pnom Phen’

18th January 2010

Every United States Diplomatic post observes United States Federal Holidays. At the same time, most posts also observe the national holidays of the host country where they are located. The United States Embassy in Cambodia is located in the capital city of Phnom Phen. In the year 2010, the US Embassy will be closed on the following dates in observance of either American or Khmer holidays:

Jan 1 Fri International New Year’s Day U.S.

Jan 18 Mon Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. U.S.

Feb 15 Mon George Washington’s Birthday U.S.

Mar 8 Mon International Women’s Day Khmer

Apr 14 Wed Khmer New Year’s Day Khmer

Apr 15 Thu Khmer New Year’s Day Khmer

Apr 16 Fri Khmer New Year’s Day Khmer

May 14 Fri King Sihamoni’s Birthday Khmer

May 31 Mon Memorial Day U.S.

Jun 18 Fri King Mother’s Birthday Khmer

Jul 5 Mon Independence Day U.S.

Sep 6 Mon Labor Day U.S.

Oct 8 Fri Pchum Ben Day Khmer

Oct 11 Mon Columbus Day U.S.

Nov 1 Mon King Father’s Birthday Khmer

Nov 9 Tue Independence Day Khmer

Nov 11 Thu Veterans Day U.S.

Nov 22 Mon Water Festival Khmer

Nov 25 Thu Thanksgiving Day U.S.

Dec 24 Fri Christmas U.S.

Dec 31 Fri International New Year’s Day U.S.

We post these dates as a courtesy to those American expats and travelers in Southeast Asia. For many, traveling to the US Embassy in a foreign country can be a major undertaking. This is why it is wise to check the holiday closing schedule before making such a trip as one can forestall a situation in which going to Embassy ultimately proves to be an effort in futility.

For those who are in an emergency situation it may be possible to contact the Embassy directly for assistance. That being said, many US State Department personnel working at the US Embassies and Consulates abroad use these scheduled holidays as an opportunity to take much needed leave time to return to the United States. Therefore, unless a matter is truly pressing, it is probably best to await normal business hours to contact or travel to the Embassy.

For Americans living or traveling abroad in need of Passports, visa pages, or notarizations it would probably be best to contact the American Citizen Services section of the nearest Consulate or Embassy in order to deal with such matters. For those interested in more information about holidays observed by the US Embassy in Cambodia, or simply to learn more about the post in general, please click here.

For those interested in further information about United States Immigration from Southeast Asia please see K3 visa, K1 visa, or CR1 Visa.

more Comments: 04

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.