Integrity Legal

Posts Tagged ‘Holiday Closings US Embassy Indonesia’

7th February 2010

As explained in previous posts on this blog, the United States Embassies and Consulates overseas generally close for both national US holidays as well as those holidays recognized by the host country. The US Embassy in Indonesia closes in recognition of many Indonesian holidays as well as American holidays. Below is the scheduled closings for the US Embassy in Jakarta, Indonesia. The following holiday schedule is posted on the American Embassy in Jakarta’s website:

New Year’s Day New Year’s Day January 1 Friday
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. January 18 Monday
Chinese New Year 2561 February 14 Sunday
Washington’s Birthday
[President Day]
February 15 Monday
Muhammad’s Birthday February 26 Friday
Nyepi Saka 1932 March 16 Tuesday
Good Friday April 2 Friday
Ascension of Christ May 13 Thursday
Waisak 2554 May 28 Friday
Memorial Day May 31 Monday
Substitute for Independence Day (U.S.) Sunday, July 4th July 5 Monday
Ascension of Muhammad July 10 Saturday
Indonesian Independence Day August 17 Tuesday
Labor Day

September 6 Monday
Idul Fitri
1 Syawal 1431 H
September 10-11 Friday, Saturday
Columbus Day

October 11 Monday
Veteran’s Day

November 11 Thursday
Idul Adha 1431 H November 17 Wednesday
Thanksgiving Day November 25 Thursday
Muslim New Year 1432 December 7 Tuesday
Substitute for Christmas Day, Dec 25th December 24 Friday
Christmas Day Christmas Day December 25 Saturday
Substitute for New year’s Day December 31 Friday

Oftentimes it is difficult to go to a US Embassy abroad for those who are living, working, or traveling through a foreign country. Expatriates and prospective immigrants who have lives to lead in the host country often find that going to the US Embassy requires a whole day to get an important issue resolved. Therefore, we have provided the above information on this blog in an effort to forestall a fruitless trip to an Embassy due to lack of foreknowledge on the part of American expats regarding the Post’s operating hours.

That being said, a Diplomatic or Consular Post is not required to be open at all times and there are times when Embassies and Consulates close without warning. For this reason, it may be prudent to go directly to the United States Embassy website in order to check if the post will be open at a certain time. To proceed to the US Embassy in Jakarta’s official website please click here.

For those American Citizens or Lawful Permanent Residents  overseas who wish to obtain a new passport, a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, a notarized document, or other services at the Embassy it may be possible to make an appointment with American Citizen Services (ACS). This provides convenience to the individual as well as the post as the Consular personnel can anticipate the needs of the Citizen and plan accordingly.

more Comments: 04

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.