Integrity Legal

Posts Tagged ‘E-2 Visa Taiwan’

6th January 2011

For those American Citizens or United States Lawful Permanent Residents who frequently travel abroad, it may sometimes prove necessary to obtain services or assistance from an American Mission abroad. In an effort to forestall fruitless trips by the public to US Posts abroad the administration of this blog routinely posts the holiday closing schedules of various US Missions in Asia. This blogger has personally found that arriving at a US Embassy only to find it closed due to observance of an American or foreign holiday can be frustrating. The following was quoted directly from the official website of the American Institute in Taiwan:

January 2011

  • Monday, January 3: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, January  17: Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. (US Holiday)


February 2011

  • Tuesday, February 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Wednesday, February 2 to Monday, February 7: Chinese Lunar New Year Holidays (Local)
  • Monday, February 21: Washington’s Birthday (US Holiday)
  • Monday, February 28: Peace Memorial Day (Local)


March 2011

  • Tuesday, March 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)

April 2011

  • Friday, April 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, April 4: Children’s day (Local)
  • Tuesday, April 5: Tomb Sweeping Day (Local)


May 2011

  • Monday, May 30: Memorial Day (US Holiday)

June 2011

  • Monday, June 6: Dragon Boat Festival (Local)


July 2011

  • Monday, July 4: Independence Day (US Holiday)


September 2011

  • Thursday, September 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, September 5: Labor Day (US Holiday)
  • Monday, September 12: Mid-Autumn Festival (Local)


October 2011

  • Monday, October 3: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, October 10: National Holiday (Local) also Columbus Day (US Holiday)


November 2011

  • Tuesday, November 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Friday, November 11: Veterans Day (US Holiday)
  • Thursday, November 24: Thanksgiving Day (US Holiday)


December 2011

  • Thursday, December 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, December 26: Christmas Day (Observed US Holiday)

Those seeking services such as issuance of a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, US Passport, or additional visa pages are well advised to contact and American Citizen Services Section of the nearest US Mission with jurisdiction over the area in which one is physically present.

For the homepage of the official website of the American Institute in Taiwan please click HERE

Those seeking US non-immigrant visas such as the B-2 visa for tourists, the B-1 visa for short term business travelers, the F-1 visa for students, or the J-1 visa for exchange visitors are likely to have their visa application adjudicated by a non-immigrant visa unit of a US Mission abroad. Those seeking immigrant visas for Taiwanese loved ones are likely to process their application through an Immigrant Visa Unit. It should be noted that for purposes of visa application processing the K-1 visa, although technically a non-immigrant US fiance visa, is generally treated as if it were an immigrant visa.

Those seeking Business or Investment visas such as the E-2 visa for Traders, the L-1 visa for intra-company transferees, or an EB-5 visa for immigrant investors should note that an approved immigration petition may be required before a US Mission abroad will process a visa application.

Those seeking advice and/or counsel regarding a pending US immigration matter are well advised to contact a licensed American lawyer in order to gain insight into the practical application of US Immigration law upon the unique facts in a given case.

For related information please see: CR1 Visa.

more Comments: 04

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.