Integrity Legal

6th July 2010

As can be gathered from previous posts on this blog, we often post the holiday closing schedules for US Embassies and Consulates in Asia. It is hoped that this practice will provide necessary information to readers and possibly prevent unnecessary trips to a US Consulate or US Embassy due to Post closure. The following schedule is quoted from the official website of the American Institute in Taiwan:

January 2010

  • Friday, January 1: New Year’s Day (U.S. & Local Holiday)
  • Monday, January 4: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, January 18: Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. (U.S. Holiday)

February 2010

  • Monday, February 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Saturday, February 13 to Friday, February 19: Chinese Lunar New Year Holidays (Local)
  • Monday, February 15: Washington’s Birthday (U.S. Holiday)
  • Sunday, February 28: Peace Memorial Day (Local)

March 2010

  • Monday, March 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)


April 2010

  • Thursday, April 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, April 5: Tomb Sweeping Day (Local)

May 2010

  • Monday, May 31: Memorial Day (U.S. Holiday)

June 2010

  • Wednesday, June 16: Dragon Boat Festival (Local)


July 2010

  • Monday, July 5: Independence Day (U.S. Holiday)

September 2010

  • Wednesday, September 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Monday, September 6: Labor Day (U.S. Holiday)
  • Wednesday, September 22: Mid-Autumn Festival (Local)

October 2010

  • Friday, October 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Sunday, October 10: National Holiday (Local)
  • Monday, October 11: Columbus Day (U.S. Holiday)


November 2010

  • Monday, November 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Thursday, November 11: Veterans Day (U.S. Holiday)
  • Thursday, November 25: Thanksgiving Day (U.S. Holiday)

December 2010

  • Wednesday, December 1: Consular Section In-Service Day (AIT/Taipei)
  • Friday, December 24: Christmas Day-observed  (U.S. Holiday)
  • Friday, December 31: New Year’s Day- observed (U.S. Holiday)

Unlike other nations, Taiwan is not the host to a US Embassy or US Consulate-General as the American position regarding Taiwan’s status is ambiguous. That said, the American Institute can provide many of the same services that are provided to Americans Citizens and foreign nationals abroad. For instance, as is the case with many Posts around the world, the American Institute in Taiwan has an American Citizen Services Section for assistance with things such as Consular Reports of Birth Abroad, visa pages, passports, etc.

The Post also has a visa section and applications may be submitted for non-immigrant visa categories such as the B1 visa, F1 visa, J1 visa, and the B2 visa. Furthermore, those seeking an Immigrant visa such as a CR1 Visa or an IR1 visa may apply for such documents at the Immigrant Visa Unit. Those seeking K visas such as the K1 visa and the K3 Visa may seek such travel documents at the Immigrant Visa Unit as well.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.