Integrity Legal

20th February 2011

The following was quoted directly from the official website of the United States Embassy in Moscow, Russia:

American holidays that fall on weekends will be observed on either Friday or Monday. Russian holidays that fall on weekends will be observed the following workday after the holiday (usually Monday or Tuesday). In the above list, the actual date (Saturday or Sunday) appears in parentheses.

Official American and Russian Holidays for December 2010 and the Year 2011

December 24 Friday (Saturday) US Christmas Day
December 31 Friday (Saturday) US New Year’s Day
January 3 Monday R New Year’s Day
January 4 Tuesday R New Year’s Day
January 5 Wednesday R New Year’s Day
January 6 Thursday (Saturday) R New Year’s Day
January 7 Friday R Orthodox Christmas
January 10 Monday (Sunday) R New Year’s Day
January 17 Monday US Martin Luther King’s
February 21 Monday US President’s Day
February 23 Wednesday R Defender’s Day
March 7 Monday R Bridge holiday
March 8 Tuesday R Women’s Day
May 2 Monday (Sunday) R May Day
May 9 Monday R Victory Day
May 30 Monday US Memorial Day
June 13 Monday (Sunday) R Russian Independence Day
July 4 Monday US American Independence Day
September 5 Monday US Labor Day
October 10 Monday US Columbus Day
November 4 Friday R Day of Consent & Reconciliation
November 11 Friday US Veteran’s Day
November 24 Thursday US Thanksgiving Day
December 26 Monday (Sunday) US Christmas Day

Saturday, January 1, and Sunday, January 2, by Russian Law will be celebrated on Thursday, January 6, and Monday, January 10. Friday, January 7 is Russian Orthodox Christmas, and is already a holiday.

Those wishing to view the official homepage of the United States Embassy in Russia please click HERE.

Those seeking services traditionally provided by an American Citizen Services Section of a US Embassy or US Consulate abroad (such as issuance of a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, US Passport, or additional visa pages for a previously issued US Passport) may be well advised to attempt to contact the post to make an appointment for such services in advance as doing so may streamline the processing of requests.

Those seeking non-immigrant visas to the USA such as the B-2 visa (tourists), F-1 visa (students), J-1 visa (exchange visitors), or B-1 visa (business visa) are likely to see their visa application processed by a US Non-immigrant visa unit abroad. Such applications are usually processed pursuant to the language of section 214(b) of the United States Immigration and Nationality Act.

Those Americans and Lawful Permanent Residents seeking immigrant spouse visas such as the CR-1 visa or the IR-1 visa are likely to see their visa application processed at an Immigrant Visa Unit abroad. It should be noted that although the K-1 visa is technically a non-immigrant US fiance visa it is generally processed in much the same manner as the immigrant spouse visas.

Those seeking an EB-5 visa as a prospective immigrant investor in the USA are likely to only have a visa application processed pursuant to an approved immigration petition from the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). The same could be said for those seeking an L-1 visa.

For related information please see: EB-5 Visa Russia.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.