Integrity Legal

2nd August 2010

Frequently, the administration of this blog posts holiday closing schedules for US Embassies and US Consulates overseas. This information is posted in an effort to forestall unnecessary trips to a US Embassy or US Consulate abroad. Many natives of the host country of an American Mission abroad are unaware of some of the holidays celebrated by Americans (which may result in the closing of a Post abroad in observance of said holidays). Furthermore, many Americans are unaware of certain local holidays observed by the host country (which may also necessitate Post closure). The following information is conveyed in an effort to provide clarification regarding Post closure. To quote directly from the official website of the US Consulate in Hyderabad, India, the following is a breakdown of the holidays observed by that Post:

DATE DAY HOLIDAY TYPE
January 1 Friday New Year’s Day American
January 14 Thursday Pongal Indian
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King’s Birthday American
January 26 Tuesday Republic Day Indian
February 12 Friday Maha Shivarathri Indian
February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday American
March 1 Monday Holi Indian
March 16 Tuesday Ugadi Indian
April 2 Friday Good Friday Indian
May 27 Thursday Buddha Purnima Indian
May 31 Monday Memorial Day American
July 5* Monday Independence Day American
September 2 Thursday Janamashtami Indian
September 6 Monday Labor Day American
October 11 Monday Columbus Day American
November 5 Friday Diwali Indian
November 11 Thursday Veterans Day American
November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day American
December 17 Friday Muharram Indian
December 24** Friday Christmas Day American

* in lieu of July 4, 2010.

** in lieu of December 25, 2010.

Note: In the year 2010, two Indian National Holidays – Independence Day and Gandhi Jayanthi fall on a Sunday and Saturday. The post will observe these holidays on Sunday, August 15, 2010 and Saturday, October 2, 2010 respectively”

Many Americans traveling abroad seek services from a US Consulate or Embassy overseas. Those who seek services from an American Citizen Services section of a US Embassy or US Consulate are well advised to check the local Post’s hours of operation, holiday closing schedule, and also ascertain whether or not the Post takes appointments online. For those seeking services from a US Consulate overseas, the process can be far more efficient where an American makes an appointment online s the appointment system often provides the customer with the opportunity to explain the services sought prior to the appointment date. This provides the Consular Officers with an opportunity to prepare themselves to best serve the customer’s needs.

United States Visa applications are not generally adjudicated by the American Citizen Services Section of a US Consulate. For more information about US Immigration generally please see: US visa.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisement. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. The information presented on this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.